CRG Discussion Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 30, 2014, 09:34:53 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Welcome to the CRG Discussion Forum!
Forum registration problems: Make sure you enter your email correctly and you check your spam box first. *Then* email KurtS2@gmail for help.
105831 Posts in 12349 Topics by 4761 Members
Latest Member: GregJay
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  CRG Discussion Forum
|-+  Camaro Research Group Discussion
| |-+  Maintenance
| | |-+  69 Headlight switch
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: 69 Headlight switch  (Read 1415 times)
69z28302
Member
***
Posts: 367



View Profile
« on: March 05, 2011, 04:04:28 PM »

I was having problems with power not getting to my headlights. Got a new switch 7 terminal but what car out of the car is a 8 terminal. Long story short, since putting in the new switch I have power to the headlights now but my dome light which was working with the old switch is now not working. Any idea's ? Also, whats the differance in the 7 and 8 terminal . Do I need an 8 terminal . Help me out.

Non RS Z/28 with U17


Mike

Thanks CRG
Logged
BlackoutSteve
Member
***
Posts: 398


138139883
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2011, 05:46:51 PM »

I'm quite sure the additional terminals are there for other applications and these switches weren't just for Camaros.
However, maybe you do have the wrong one. What part number?

Also, the switch needs to have a good ground to the dash. Some switches have a ground spade terminal on them, Camaros relied on the ground bracket being sandwiched by the mounting nut when installed. (UPC 12-B2) Perhaps this could be why your dome light isn't working..?
Logged

Restoring my RHD 69 Jane in Melbourne, Australia.
http://www.usmuscle.com.au/Forum/showthread.php?t=2840
69z28302
Member
***
Posts: 367



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2011, 05:56:35 PM »

I'm quite sure the additional terminals are there for other applications and these switches weren't just for Camaros.
However, maybe you do have the wrong one. What part number?

Thanks Steve. This is what I bought.

http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/detail/BWD0/S427.oap?keyword=headlight+switch&pt=02006&ppt=C0039

Logged
BlackoutSteve
Member
***
Posts: 398


138139883
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2011, 06:03:39 PM »

Yeah, that should work..

Check your ground.. See the 3 spade terminals in a row? At the end of those is a silver spade terminal. You can use this for your ground if you like.
Personally, I think the factory should have fitted a star washer between the switch assy and ground strap, but the ground spade terminal (not on original switches I don't think) may be a easier solution.
Logged

Restoring my RHD 69 Jane in Melbourne, Australia.
http://www.usmuscle.com.au/Forum/showthread.php?t=2840
69z28302
Member
***
Posts: 367



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2011, 06:14:16 PM »

Just checked the 2 white wires ( thta are joined together) going to the switch. I assume these are going to the doorjam switchs. I dont have any power to them even when the switch is in the "Dome On " postion.

Mike
Logged
69z28302
Member
***
Posts: 367



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2011, 07:10:19 PM »

Sorry if I wasted anyones time. Bulb blew some how in between changes.

Thanks CRG
Logged
9T4Z
Member
***
Posts: 239



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2011, 06:58:31 PM »

7 pin switch is for ' without console package.'  8 pin switch is for ' with Console gauges. '

 Since you need lights to the console, the extra power off the switch is for the variable dimming on the console gauges.  You should be able to tie into the lamp output for the dash gauges I would think...
I am guessing that you car has the console gauges?
Logged

Gary 9T4Z

94Z rag blower 491 rwhp (now 505!)
69 Pace Car, 70RS,91Z,91RS
69z28302
Member
***
Posts: 367



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2011, 07:16:15 PM »

7 pin switch is for ' without console package.'  8 pin switch is for ' with Console gauges. '

 Since you need lights to the console, the extra power off the switch is for the variable dimming on the console gauges.  You should be able to tie into the lamp output for the dash gauges I would think...
I am guessing that you car has the console gauges?


Yes it has console with gauges

thanks
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.076 seconds with 18 queries.