Author Topic: Yenko ZL1 427  (Read 9115 times)

sbaustin

• View Profile
Yenko ZL1 427
« on: April 28, 2010, 06:47:46 PM »
I bought a red 69 Camaro with the Yenko ZL1 engine on ebay 4 years ago.  I have the documentation from Don Yenko -- it is real, manufactured by Yenko.  I have been restoring it for the past 4 years, have gotten to the point of installing the alternator.  Here's my challenge:

Alternator for 69 Camaros was on the passenger side.  This includes a (real) ZL1 and Yenko Copo 427.  However, the Yenko manufactured ZL1 included a short shaft aluminum water pump (available only 67-68).  If I stay with the short shaft aluminum water pump, I have to put the alternator on the driver's side which would technically be incorrect for a 69 Camaro.  To put the alternator on the passenger side, I would have to install a long shaft (non-aluminum) water pump. 

I realize Yenko did quite a bit of his own fabrication, had no standard rules, just looking to keep the car as correct as possible.  Any inputs would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

jonboy1216

• View Profile
Re: Yenko ZL1 427
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 12:59:10 AM »
are you sure about the car ?im curious because i thought fred gibb had the 69 zl1s built and then chevrolet sent the ones he didnt keep to other dealerships.that being said yours would have the alt. setup that the other 68 had to be correct.

william

• CRG Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 01:15:34 AM »
Of the 69 factory-built ZL-1s the first two [12E] had long-style coolant pumps cast in aluminum. In the interim durability problems came to light and the remainder of the production run [02D & later] used the standard long iron pump painted black. Shortly thereafter the long aluminum pump was re-released.

Both are still around and since there is no "correct" with the car, use either.
Learning more and more about less and less...

sbaustin

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2010, 03:02:36 AM »
Thank you.