Author Topic: Upper control arm shaft - How important is this surface ?  (Read 4167 times)

DAVEN1256

• View Profile
Upper control arm shaft - How important is this surface ?
« on: December 15, 2012, 03:42:40 AM »
On each end of the upper control arm shaft, where the bushing sits, how important is the surface condition on this area? Mine have some rust pitting. (See the attached photo with the arrow) .

I am trying to figure out if the shafts I have will still work or should they be replaced.

This is my first time redoing a front suspension. Tell me if I understand this correctly....... With the bushing in place on the control arm shaft and the bolt with the large washer put through the bushing and screwed in to the control arm shaft, the serrated edge of the bushing's inner sleeve digs into the control arm shaft and locks them together. The inner sleeve of the bushing never rotates around the end of the control arm shaft when the car is being driven.....Is this right?

If the above is true, it would seem that the surface of the control arm ends would not need to be super smooth..... Right or wrong?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks.....Dave

tmodel66

• View Profile
Re: Upper control arm shaft - How important is this surface ?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2012, 03:46:55 AM »
Yeah I think you will be OK with those. I would just clean them up with some emery cloth or 1000 grit and let it go.
Daniel  
'69 SS 350/4 speed  Fathom Green--POP

Mike S

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2012, 03:54:49 AM »
  Your understanding is correct. The bushing is locked when assembled.
The picture of the shaft surface looks fine. As long as the new bushings fit on the shaft without rocking then you can reuse them.

Mike
67 04B LOS SS/RS L35 Hardtop - Original w/UOIT
67 05B NOR SS/RS L35 Convertible - Restored

DAVEN1256

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2012, 04:15:20 PM »