Author Topic: Alternator (GEN) light on when key is off.  (Read 27623 times)

Hugger Orange 69

• View Profile
Alternator (GEN) light on when key is off.
« on: May 14, 2006, 12:17:38 AM »
I just had to replace the battery in my 69 Camaro.  When I reconnected the cables I noticed that the alternator light was on even before putting the key into the ignition.  When I start the engine the light goes off, but when I turn the car off the light comes back on and stays on.  I have to remove the cables to protect the battery from draining.  I am not very good with electrical problems.  When I remove the connector with two wires from the alternator and connect the battery the light does not come on.  I also notice a click from the voltage regulator every time I connect and disconnect the battery cables.  Could the alternator be bad?  What about the voltage regulator?

Some additional background: I have had a battery discharge problem since I purchased the car 5 years ago.  I think I have isolated that problem to the door switch.  Since I had the typical starter solenoid/heat problem, I switched to a mini-mag starter about a year ago.  This solved the heat problem, but not the battery discharge problem, so I recently returned to the stock starter and added a heat blanket.  When I installed a new battery last week, the alternator light issue popped up.  I have a Pertronix ignition system and a Code Alarm system that is tied into the previously mentioned faulty door switch. The alarm also operates the door locks.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jim

bertfam

• View Profile
Re: Alternator (GEN) light on when key is off.
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2006, 01:08:59 AM »
Jim,

If you accidently put the battery cables on the wrong terminals when you hooked up the battery, you probably popped the diode(s)s in the alternator. (Ask me how I know this!!) Don't feel bad, it happens all the time...