CRG Discussion Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 21, 2014, 05:17:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Welcome to the CRG Discussion Forum!
Forum registration problems: Make sure you enter your email correctly and you check your spam box first. *Then* email KurtS2@gmail for help.
104636 Posts in 12242 Topics by 4719 Members
Latest Member: Baconcks
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  CRG Discussion Forum
|-+  Camaro Research Group Discussion
| |-+  Mild Modifications
| | |-+  Tremic 5 seed install
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Tremic 5 seed install  (Read 2119 times)
edwmck
Newbie
*
Posts: 11


View Profile
« on: November 05, 2008, 07:24:40 PM »

Hi I am new at this !

I am going to install a Tremic 5 speed in a 68 camaro, The car originaly had a 350 small block, saganaw 4 speed.
The car now has a 496 big block, and I want to install the Tremic Trans.

Can I use the original small block trans crossmember ( moved back 2 in) ? Or do I have to find a big block crossmember ?  or do I have to us a crossmember like the classic chevy one .

I want the car to appear factory stock !

Thanks
Logged
sdkar
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 654



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2008, 08:51:56 PM »

I have a 502 in my 69 and I installed a Keisler 5 speed tremec setup.  Their kit included the crossmember.  I am not sure if either the TH350 or TH400 will work, but it they do not, you can buy the one that will from either Keisler or Classic Chevy 5 speed. 
Logged
edwmck
Newbie
*
Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2008, 08:43:00 AM »

No...the kit that I got did not come with the cross member. I was not sure of the easiest way to do it.

Thanks for your reply, I will phone Keiser or classic chev
Logged
red69
Member
***
Posts: 104


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2008, 10:02:07 AM »

My son is considering the Tremec 5 speed in his small block 67. Do you have to cut any tunnnel out for this install?
  Thanks Pat
Logged
edwmck
Newbie
*
Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2008, 01:29:52 PM »

No..... I don,t think you have to cut the tunnel. You might have to cut a half moon 1 inch notch in the tunnel if you use the shifter that is supplyed with the trans.
There is a optional shifter  for about $299.00 that lowers and moves the shifter over enough so you do not have to cut at all. The Classic Chevy 5 speed web site has a lot of good info and video about the swap.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.071 seconds with 17 queries.