Author Topic: How original can one get?  (Read 3924 times)

mytwoblues

• View Profile
How original can one get?
« on: October 06, 2019, 02:39:59 PM »
Y'all don't chastise me here (yes, I'm from Texas).  I'm still doing research to hopefully purchase a 69 SS Camaro.  It would be my dream car, to own until I can no longer drive it.  My question is:  how original should I be on the lookout for?  I see lots of caveat emptors, lots of questions regarding restamps, numbers not matching, etc.  But how many Camaros out there do you think would really be all original?  I don't know if I should be worried about finding all correct stamping, data plate info.  I'm still new to searching for my perfect car.  I appreciate help!

mytwoblues

• View Profile
Re: How original can one get?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2019, 02:58:05 PM »
Another thought:  in my search for my dream car, I've tried to run several VIN's online to get more info.  But since there are only 13 numbers, vs now 17, many cars I come across don't have any database info.  Is this typical?  Or is this a definite red flag? 

x66 714

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2019, 02:59:52 PM »
A car is only original once. After that it can be restored original or correct. There are also those that choose to do forgery. The question for you is what do you want? What are you willing to accept? These are questions only you will have the answer to. Maybe you want a clean driver you can have fun with & not concern yourself with numbers that maybe you could take to a show & be proud of it?....Joe
See America's First, Chevrolet

1968 Z/28 Corvette Bronze. Black Hounds Tooth. 02E Los Angeles born 3/13/1968 pnt OO. Purchased March 1976
1969 SS396 Yellow/Yellow 08E Norwood born 8/28/1969 pnt 76E. Purchased April 1981

mytwoblues

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2019, 05:07:05 PM »