Author Topic: Rally Sport brackets, light housings, vacuum tank - correct finish colors?  (Read 2898 times)

Hans L

• View Profile
Getting ready to refinish the following Rally Sport parts - seems all are various hues of black.

Is 30% Gloss Black correct for these parts?  (See pic below)
- Support Brackets (both small and long ones)
- Bell Crank Lever
- Headlight housing
- Vacuum Tank

And it seems the headlight bucket is more glossy - 60-70% or?

Can anyone confirm what's best to go with for the above?

https://www.instagram.com/69camarorsz28/
'69 Camaro RS Z/28 Van Nuys Built
'69 Chevelle SS 396 4 Speed

Edgemontvillage

• View Profile
Re: Rally Sport brackets, light housings, vacuum tank - correct finish colors?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2019, 02:56:33 AM »
Getting ready to refinish the following Rally Sport parts - seems all are various hues of black.

- Bell Crank Lever
- Headlight housing
- Vacuum Tank

Hans, based on the original finishes I studied I’m planning to

- Bell Crank Lever
- Headlight housing
- Vacuum Tank

Can anyone confirm what's best to go with for the above?

[URL

Can anyone confirm what's best to go with for

Hans, based on the original finishes on the RS components I’m restoring, I’m intending to paint the parts 30% gloss black except the inner headlight buckets and the vacuum tank that will both get 60% gloss black. Missing from your photo are the (2) support rods and (2) door hinges that will also receive 30% gloss black. I could be convinced otherwise but that’s my current plan.

Hans L

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2019, 06:33:59 PM »
Lloyd -

Appreciate the quick response!   Good catch on the vacuum tank - as mine was quite faded, I was unsure of the gloss level.

Here's the other parts.  Regarding the door hinges - as they are aluminum or some non-ferrous metal, I wasn't sure if they are painted.  I'll check to see if I have any pics prior to cleaning to confirm paint.