Author Topic: Could this be the original distributor in my 1968 Z/28?  (Read 32359 times)

1968RSZ28

• View Profile
Could this be the original distributor in my 1968 Z/28?
« on: January 19, 2007, 08:43:35 PM »
Hello Everybody -

I'm a newbie and have a question regarding my 1968 Rally Sport Z/28. I recently towed the car from my parents home, where it has been stored since 1981, to mine as they are about to do some major remodeling. I decided to check the "numbers".  Two parts seem suspicious: the distributor and the water pump. The distributor is stamped 1111266 with a date code of 7A25 and the water pump is cast with the number 3838175 with a date code of D 13 7. According to the book "Chevrolet by the Numbers 1965-69" this distributor was only used in the 1967 model year and the water pump number is not even listed. My car has a build date of 02C from Los Angeles (born and been in California to date). So, the question is do I need to start looking for the correct parts or is it possible these are the factory parts? I've heard that sometimes GM would use parts they had a surplus of on the assembly line (especially in Los Angeles where they did not build as many Z/28s), or are these parts too old? Thanks in advance!

Paul 

bertfam

• View Profile
Re: Could this be the original distributor in my 1968 Z/28?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2007, 08:54:01 PM »
Paul,

That's over a year difference between the distributor date and the date of your car. Also, the 68 302 used the 1111267 distributor and I don't believe the factory would have used a 266 on a 68. I could be wrong though. JohnZ can give us more info on that. What's the assembly date of your engine?

The 3838175 water pump is probably 3839175 and that's a late 1963 or 1964 Corvette 327 pump so it's not original to your car. That date would be an over the counter replacement also.

Ed
« Last Edit: January 19, 2007, 09:00:24 PM by bertfam »

william

• CRG Member
    • View Profile