Author Topic: 68 ss ID  (Read 6998 times)

jmalara

• View Profile
68 ss ID
« on: December 17, 2016, 11:22:05 PM »
Hi folks

Newbie here. Looking at a car advertised as a 68 ss convertible matching numbers. Sellers says he replaced original 10 bolt with a new 10 bolt rear. Everything else he says seems to check out and I feel pretty well armed with info to inspect based on what I've read on this site. This is the only thing that doesn't seem right on paper. Did the 68 come with an option for a 10 bolt or were all SS cars outfitted with 12 bolts?

Thanks.
J

1968RSZ28

• View Profile
Re: 68 ss ID
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2016, 11:33:10 PM »
All '68 SS came with 12 bolts, no exceptions like in '69.

http://www.camaros.org/suspen.shtml#12-Bolt

Paul

jmalara

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2016, 05:38:30 AM »
Thanks Paul. So when I go look at this car and see the engine stamped with MS code and the speedometer cable coming out of the right side of the column what should I think?  Seller says he replaced10 bolt posi with a new 10 bolt. What would be the definitive factor here. I realize there's no sure thing but somehow I have to decide which things to believe.

Thanks again
J

Petes L48

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2016, 07:13:40 AM »
Is he the original owner?  It could be the "original one" since he's owned the car, but not the factory original.  May just need some clarification on his part, and him not knowing that the 10 bolt he replaced was not the original rear axle from the factory.  Some buyers don't research what they're purchasing, and accept everything the seller tells them as true.  You may want to post up pictures of the other stampings and trim tag etc. if you decide to move forward, so the experts can give their opinion on those items and if it really is a SS that had the original rear end replaced along the way.     

bcmiller

• CRG Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2016, 02:52:20 PM »