Author Topic: sandblasting?  (Read 6677 times)

wkuehn

• View Profile
sandblasting?
« on: December 04, 2006, 10:23:57 PM »
 Hi all
have my first gen mostly disassmbled. needs floor work, both rear quarters, tailpan ect. this is my first project car and i was wondering if i should sandblast the undercarrige and trunk ect. if so what  is a good piece of equipment to use... i see a few choices in harbor frieght. any advice would be appreciated...
wally

william

• CRG Member
    • View Profile
Re: sandblasting?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2006, 01:31:06 AM »
Having done my share of sandblasting I strongly recommend that you have a professional shop do the work. Sandblasting of this magnitude [entire floorpan] requires a large compressor and sanblasting equipment, all of which can be rented. The car will need to be suspended; don't even consider lying under it. It will take a lot of sand and is incredibly noisy & messy. You will also need personal protective equipment. Inhaling sand is hazardous and it can easily end up in your nose, ears and eyes.

Sandblasting can warp and work-harden metal so you do not want to do any exterior sheet metal. If you get careless it will instantly ruin glass. There will be sand in the car forever.

Were I to do a car again I would first remove all panels due to be replaced and would seriously consider having the remainder of the paint/rust chemically stripped. There are rust-neutralizing solutions now available that are far more thorough than sandblasting. Hot Rod did a feature on this topic in the June 2006 issue.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2006, 02:47:29 AM by william »
Learning more and more about less and less...

mrdetails

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2006, 05:29:49 PM »