Author Topic: Engine casting date vs build date  (Read 12318 times)

ronnieg

• View Profile
Engine casting date vs build date
« on: May 06, 2006, 08:45:23 PM »
Can or has anyone seen a casting date for the block that is the same as the build date on the pad?

rsatz28

• View Profile
Re: Engine casting date vs build date
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2006, 01:53:57 PM »
While I'm no expert, I'm not sure how that could be done.

JohnZ

• CRG Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2006, 05:13:14 PM »
Yes, I've seen a couple, and NCRS has documented several over the years. Flint blocks were cast in Saginaw, and it was possible for a block to be cast early in the 1st shift and show up at Flint Engine on 2nd shift for machining and assembly. Would also have been possible at Tonawanda, as the foundry was right next door to the engine plant, on the same site.

The "norm" was more like 2-3 days to a week, but it was "possible".
'69 Z/28
Fathom Green
CRG

rsatz28

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2006, 05:19:23 PM »
Very interesting! 

ronnieg

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2006, 05:32:49 PM »
thanks! The engine for my 68 z is that way cast on the 16th of may and built the same day.  Both heads were from the 10th of may. I had the deck plate height checked, and it was correct but was not sure if the engine could be built the same day. Thanks again for the comments!

Z10Mike

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2006, 08:58:45 PM »