Author Topic: Order of assembly when painting car  (Read 8295 times)

ko-lek-tor

• someday I'll get one finished
    • View Profile
Order of assembly when painting car
« on: March 12, 2014, 08:07:37 PM »
Excuse my ignorance on this topic. I have never done this extensive paint work before. I may have read here, but worth hearing from those who have been through this. I am about to have body work done and painted if money holds out. my question: Should I have front sheetmetal hung on and painted and try and raise subframe back under car once home from the shop(I believe this is how assembly line did it)? Or, Have subframe installed and leave front sheetmetal off until all related work with front is done before installing sheetmetal? Or, should I have all areas "cut-in" and not paint car until all mechanical (engine/wiring etc..) is completed and then have body painted as a whole? Have subframe and sheetmetal installed and all painted and remove front end one home to do work on front areas(brakes/engine etc..? I want to know best and most cost effective as I don't have money to have shop do a lot of assembly although I will have them install glass and vinyl top and roofrail weatherstrip and headliner, I'm thinking at this point. I am sure body shop has an idea of how they would prefer, I just do not want to request something that is not practical or feasible.Thanks, knowledgeable CRGers.
Bentley to friends :1969 SS/RS 396 owned 79
1969 SS 350 (sold)
1969 D.H.COPO replica 4spd. owned since 85
1967 302 4 spd 5.13

janobyte

• Before it was called Day 2 !
    • View Profile
Re: Order of assembly when painting car
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 09:27:43 PM »
My guy wanted front clip/doors/rear deck lid off for prep. Hung doors and installed rear deck lid.

All factory gaps are being retained--car came out of Norwood damn straight! Lines are on, doors don't shut like a race car.