CRG Discussion Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 01, 2014, 11:40:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Welcome to the CRG Discussion Forum!
Forum registration problems: Make sure you enter your email correctly and you check your spam box first. *Then* email KurtS2@gmail for help.
103779 Posts in 12188 Topics by 4700 Members
Latest Member: lpetruc
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  CRG Discussion Forum
|-+  Camaro Research Group Discussion
| |-+  Mild Modifications
| | |-+  Retrofitting Tic-Toc-Tach into a std coupe?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Retrofitting Tic-Toc-Tach into a std coupe?  (Read 2055 times)
VXC961
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« on: September 21, 2006, 08:25:57 PM »


Hi,

I was wondering if anybody on the board has put a repro tic-toc-tach in where the fuel gauge is?  I thought I remembered reading in the catalogs that this was possible, but I'd like to know for sure before I start.  Also, any quality issues with these reproduction tachs?

Thanks,

OCB
Logged
hotrod68
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 520


almost finished

rusticman48@aol
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2006, 10:55:54 PM »

You'd need a console with gauges because with that option the fuel gauge was moved to the console. I've done this conversion for a friend and it's pretty straightforward if you're handy with a wrench and understand wiring schematics. You'll have to take the fuse box apart and of course, drop the steering column to get the original gauge pod out.  That's over and above all the stuff to add the console, which is considerable, for the oil pressure gauge needs a hard line, and the ammeter and water temp gauges need rewiring, the console will need its own fasteners and shifter hardware... etc.  Figure in some serious downtime if you drive the car regularly. If you already have a console it's much easier to add the gauge pod to it, though, as was the case of my friend. I have no experience with repro tachs, but a good kit will have ALL the correct wiring to fit it into the original GM looms and fuse box as the factory did it. I don't mean to throw water on your idea, but it's not an afternoon job if your car doesn't already have a console. Good luck!
Logged

HotRod'68  1968 SS350 coupe undergoing frame-off resto/rod. 386/350/4.11s
Butternut Yellow    black standard interior
VXC961
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2006, 03:28:34 AM »


No problem--the car's already got console gauges.  Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.2 seconds with 17 queries.