Author Topic: A question for the paint system experts  (Read 10215 times)

woodsman1172

A question for the paint system experts
« on: March 10, 2013, 10:16:01 AM »
While I appreciate the benefits of BC/CC paint systems, I don't really like the deep, glassy appearance, and would rather paint my car with a single stage paint. However, my car is Cortez Silver, and the last time I painted a metallic color in single stage, I had a lot of trouble laying down even coats. Should I just bite the bullet and go with the modern paint systems, or are there any old school tips and techniques that would help me get a uniform metallic finish with single stage?

lynnbilodeau

• View Profile
Re: A question for the paint system experts
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 06:44:44 PM »
Thin coats.
I am no expert, but painted a Cortez silver Z in the fall of 1971 and it came out fine.  The guy I was working for just advised to go with lots of thin coats.  Too heavy and the metallic will sag.

tmodel66

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2013, 03:46:52 AM »
You need to keep the paint stirred well too so you get all your metallic alike in each coat cause that stuff will settle pretty quick. I don't know about thin coats but I did paint with a little wider pattern so you don't get streaks in overlap.
Daniel  
'69 SS 350/4 speed  Fathom Green--POP

firstgenaddict

• caretaker of 1971 LT1's 11130 & 21783
    • View Profile
    • Groome Family Automobiles
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2013, 04:16:51 AM »
A stirring cup is almost a requirement when shooting paints with heavy metal flake.
James
Collectin' Camaro's since "Only Rednecks drove them"
Current caretaker of 1971 LT1's - 11130 and 21783 Check out the Black 69 RS/Z28 45k mile Survivor and the Lemans Blue 69 Z 10D frame off...
https://plus.google.com/photos/112392262205377424364/albums?banner=pwa

woodsman1172

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2013, 07:43:30 AM »
Thanks for the tips guys!

69Z28

• 69 X33D80 Z28
    • View Profile